Design Inspiration 1

I have no education or  training in design or art. I went to a sketching class a few years ago and after the 3rd lesson the teacher called me aside and said ” please don’t come back – find another hobby“.  Needless to say that put me off trying to do anything artistic for a while.

It’s only since I’ve started quilting that I been thinking about being creative again.  Colour has always fascinated me, and I love abstract art and graphic design,  so quilting has inspired me to think about design in a different way.  Now when I see something colourful, or a an interesting pattern on something , I think could I use that in a quilt? Whilst I still clearly have a long way to go, I now look at the world through a different lens.

I was in London a couple of years ago and visited the Liberty store. A feast of beautiful design in so many ways. I bought some chocolates there, partly because I loved the box, mostly because I love chocolate!

Design Inspiration 1 Fit to be SquareWhen I was thinking of a design for my Hip To Be Square baby quilt, I remembered the chocolate box which I had kept because I loved the colour combination.

I think my quilt captures some of the colourful spirit of the box, even though the palette needed to be wider.

2014-04-23 13.46.41

Liberty has a section on their site called Colour Coded Craft which you might find inspiring! I hope you have some colour in your day.

L

 

5 thoughts on “Design Inspiration 1

  1. I really like the way you you modeled your color palette after an inspiration you found. I need to do that, I really struggle with picking out and sticking to a palette. And I wanted to add, that in my opinion any teacher who tells any student to “not come back” is just not a good teacher! How rude!

  2. I’m glad to find you here (on 7/7) and am following now.

    Your chocolate box uses very similar colors as a silk scarf of mine, which also is done in squared squares, as your quilt is! I got the scarf out recently to serve as inspiration for some color play of my own.

    I’ve been skimming through many of your posts. Very interesting. 🙂

    • Thanks Melanie I am new to blogging so it is lovely to receive some positive feedback. I have discovered that I like green and purple together, basically I love playing with colour. In quilting I also like playing with squares within squares.

      • You’re very articulate about your thought process, and I think that’s rare. Like you, I didn’t come to quilting from an art background, so hearing others speak of their creative process is very enlightening for me.

Leave a Reply

