Yea – I’m off to Quiltcon!

Well almost – after an unhappy attempt to go to the first Quiltcon last year, this time I set the alarm and woke up at 12.45 ready for the registration to open at 1am Sydney time.  Last year I calculated the opening time by using the wrong time zone in the USA, and when I logged on I couldn’t get into the workshops that I wanted.  For those of you not familiar with Quiltcon, it is the annual get-together of the Modern Quilt Guild of America and is held in Austin, Texas.

So this time round there was planning – a strategy even – involving spreadsheets of preferred choices, days and times, and eventual SUCCESS!

I will be doing a workshop with quilters from Gee’s Bend who have long been a source of inspiration to me, not only for their beautiful quilts, but for their life-affirming story.

Postcards of Gee's bend Quilts

Postcards of Gee’s bend Quilts

I bought this set of postcards of their quilts some time ago, and I think lucky people in the USA can also buy a set of postage stamps featuring their work.

The other workshop I’m doing is with Sherri Lynn Wood who makes fabulous modern improv quilts – usually using all solids.

Sherri Lynn Wood  Patchwork Doodling

Sherri Lynn Wood
Patchwork Doodling

The workshop I will be doing is called  Improvisational Patchwork Doodling.  You can see a full description on Sherri Lynn’s blog.

For the rest of my four days I will be attending lectures on a range of topics and feasting my eyes on all the wonderful quilts that will be on display.

Given the distance and cost of travelling from Australia, I’m also thinking of adding a side trip to Santa Fe in New Mexico and to Lincoln, Nebraska to visit the International Quilt Study Center and Museum  which is located on the University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s East Campus. The center houses the world’s largest publicly held quilt collection. The more than 4,000 quilts and related ephemera date from the early 1700s to the present and represent more than 25 countries – WOW- I anticipate a quilt sensory overload if I get there.  If you have paid it a visit I’d love to hear about it.

Rainbow Stripes circa 1890-1910

Rainbow Stripes circa 1890-1910

 

Each month they feature a quilt on their Quilt of the Month on their web site and this month’s is Rainbow Stripes. Just goes to show that everything old is new again, as this quilt would not be out of place at Quiltcon!

Now all I have to do is to count the number of “sleeps” til I get there!

7 thoughts on “Yea – I’m off to Quiltcon!

  1. I’m happy to hear that registration went so well for you! What an exciting trip to look forward to! I’ll be going to QuiltCon too, maybe I’ll see you there!

  2. I think the quilt museum in Lincoln only has two galleries going at a time. There’s still plenty of opportunity for sensory overload, but you won’t get to see 4,000 quilts. Most of them are in storage and research rooms.

    Have a wonderful time at QuiltCon. I’m not what you’d call a modern quilter, so it’s not on my radar. But I’ll bet you’ll love it!

Leave a Reply

