It works – no pin Drunkard’s Path!

The annual Craft and Quilt Show was on last week-end and I treated myself to a day off work and went last Friday. Apart from feasting my eyes on the beautiful quilts on display, I usually keep a lookout for things that I can’t readily buy from my local stores.

Sewing curves hasn’t yet been part of my skill set, but I recently saw a striking black and white quilt on Pinterest using a drunkard’s path block arranged in an abstract pattern and decided that I wanted to make one in a similar way (unfortunately I seem to have lost the pin!).

As I was walking past one of the stalls my attention was caught by a woman sewing drunkard’s path blocks. On closer inspection I realized that she was demonstrating a special sewing machine presser foot for sewing curves.  I spent some time watching and it seemed to work.  The selling point was that curves could be sewn without any pinning or matching centers and so on. I had been reading-up on how to sew drunkard’s path blocks and it seemed to be very fiddly and time-consuming to me.  The demonstration appeared to show that none of this was necessary if you used the special foot.

Now, I must say that I am always skeptical of anything that seems too good to be true, however, after coming back and having another look I decided to purchase the foot and to give it a go.

TemplateI also purchased a cutting template and gave them a trial on Monday night using some scraps.

The presser foot comes with attachments for various machines and it needs a special attachment for the Janome Horizon which they had sold out of, but I clipped it on to my small Brother and gave it a go.

It worked like a charm – no pins, no messing around trying to match centers, just a perfect curve. I had never sewed this type of block before so it was a minor miracle to me.

My first ever Drunkard's Path block

My first ever Drunkard’s Path block

Roll the curve

Roll the curve

I also purchased a small wooden roller which the demonstrator used to smooth down the seam instead of ironing it. I used it as well and it also worked like a treat.

Back of block

Back of block

Here is the back – I had black thread in the machine – so I just went with that.

All in all I was impressed – it would be a huge time saver if you were making a whole quilt using this block.

I haven’t tried it with other types of curves yet, but will give it a go on the week-end and let you know.

The Curve Master

The Curve Master

It wasn’t cheap – I think the presser foot cost $40 Australian dollars and the roller was $20, but if it works for all curves it will be money well spent.  I bought mine from the Punch and Judy stand, but I found the website so you can  get more details there.

Leave a Reply

