1,2,3 Quilt

A recent addition to my bookshelf was 1,2,3 Quilt – Shape Up Your Skills with 24 Stylish Projects by Ellen Luckett Baker.

1,2,3 Quilt  Ellen Luckett Baker

1,2,3 Quilt
Ellen Luckett Baker

Looking at it again last night for some inspiration I realized that it had one of my favourite quilts in it, The Lopsided Squares Quilt which I first saw on Pinterest.  It is one of the inspirations for the mixed neutral block borders on my current improv small sketches quilt.  You will see the similarity in the borders, but Ellen’s quilt is a real thing of beauty while mine is …well … it’s a learning curve in a square quilt!

As someone who is relatively new to quilting 1,2,3 Quilt has been a good resource.  It is organized by quilting shapes—squares, triangles, hexagons, circles, flowers, stars, and diamonds which has helped me to understand the basics of working with different blocks.  It is very well illustrated with drawings and full-page colour photographs.   The instructions are very easy to follow with a clear layout and the font is dark enough and large enough to read – something that many books lack.   I would certainly recommend it for anyone who is learning to quilt.

Ellen’s blog/website is The Long Thread and she is also a talented fabric designer which I didn’t know until I bought the book.  I have seen some of her fabric without realizing the connection.  I also had a look at the site last night and she has some great links to top 100 Top Tutorials which you might find useful.

Leave a Reply

