Pieced together!

Orang improvAfter some last minute unpicking and addition of some different value segments into two blocks, followed by some rearranging of the overall block placement, I pieced the improv orang(ish) top together last night.

Five blocks got culled, including these three.Yellow and red blockAbstract block

Some were the wrong hue,  some had value problems, and some didn’t flow with the other blocks. I think part of the problem was caused by sewing at night under bad lighting. It was also a learning curve, particularly about colour interactions.

Houses with yellow blockI’ll either use them for cushions or slice them up and re-piece them in another project.

I am reasonably happy with the result, although I have a tendency to want things to be perfect (!).  A friend, who is a much more experienced quilter than me, told me on Friday, “sometimes good enough is enough”. I am keen to start another project, so I will heed that advice and let it be.

I’m now auditioning backs.  I usually piece backs to make my quilts reversible (even though one side is definitely “the front”), but I’m not sure about this one. The front has so much piecing I think that maybe just one to three large pieces will become the back.

I’m trying to come up with a name for it – any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

