New eye candy and inspitation

I’ve had a bit of a splurge on books over the past two months and this is my last for the year.  Unconventional & Unexpected: Quilts Below the Radar 1950-2000  presents a  collection of approximately 150  quirky quilts  from the Roderick Kiracofe collection.

Unconventional quiltsCosmo, my faithful reading companion, and I really loved this book.  As a relatively new quilter, and an undeniable rebel at heart, this book really struck a chord with me.

I decided early on in my quilting that precision piecing, very small pieces of fabric and following the “rules” were not really my thing, so seeing such a stunning collection of unconventional quilts which are slightly wonky, always unique and meant to be used, gave me a real boost! This book will give me inspiration for years to come.

My quilts may not be perfect, but they are made with care and love, and I know that they are loved by their recipients.

Even if you are a traditional quilter, or a perfectionist in your quilting practice, you will find inspiration in this book – the full-colour photographs and the essays by well known textile experts such as Kaffe Fassett and Denyse Schmidt make it a treasure to be read over and over again.

2 thoughts on “New eye candy and inspitation

  1. It’s always informative to read about and see high-quality photos of historical quilts. It doesn’t matter if they were expertly made or make-do. There is a design sensibility to each of them that we can learn from, if we are patient enough to listen. Thanks for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

