Bright and bold

I realised last night that I fibbed the other day when I posted I had made my last book purchase for the year.  I had in fact, bought another book recently: In Patterns: Marimekko.

I, like many people I know, fell in love with their iconic Poppy print years ago. It could be considered as a precursor to our recent interest in Scandinavian design.  Poppy PrintSo I was delighted when I discovered this book in a local store.Marimeko

The book is a colourful exploration of the company’s design ideas from sketches through to the printed fabric with full-colour illustrations in bold and beautiful glory.

It also has profiles of Marimekko designers from the 1950s to the  younger present day  design team and provides a behind-the-scenes tour of the brand’s creative process. I enjoyed reading about the inspiration behind some of the designs and the iterative process involved to bring them to fruition.

If you are interested in print and pattern and like bold, bright colour, I’m sure you would enjoy this book – or enjoy  giving it as a gift to someone for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

