First finish for 2015

“Astral” is the first (baby) quilt finished for 2015.

Astral indoorsOnly 2 more to go (that I know of – colleagues seem to keep having babies!). I called it Astral because of the star and also because I thought that the fabric in the cross looked a little like the heavenly glow in a night sky.

Centre of AstralOnce again I decided to “upscale” a block idea into a quilt.   I then added two borders and a small square in the corners for an “Amish” touch . It measures 45″ square.  This photo has the best representation of the actual colours.

The fabrics are Michael Miller Dumb Dot in turquoise and pale green, Kona solids, a light and a darker turquoise – but I don’t know the colours, and Kaffe Fassett Marbled Glass in the centre cross.

Astral on the lawnAfter auditioning many fabrics for the back none seemed quite right, so unusually for me I stayed with the same colourway and used Michale Miller in Clown Stripe and Kona solids in a pale green and turquoise and added a strip of the Dumb Dot from the front.

Back of Astral on the lawnI also added an applique dinosaur on the label for a bit of fun.

Unfortunately the colours in the photos don’t do it justice. The turquoise is a beautiful vibrant colour and so are the colours in the Marbled Glass fabric.  I’m still learning how to use my new camera and getting light correct is proving to be a problem.  The sunlight is so strong here in summer that even in a shaded area, or indoors, the light seems to bleach out colour in photos.

Astral on the railI outline quilted the star and cross shapes with two to three lines of quilting.  I haven’t had enough confidence to free motion quilt as yet.

I think the mum will like it – I hope the baby does!

6 thoughts on “First finish for 2015

Leave a Reply

