A “modern” day out

I spent Sunday down at the Modern Quilt Show in Kiama (about 1.5 hours drive south of Sydney) with two quilty friends.  We had a good day meeting up with quilters, viewing the quilts and, of course, doing a little shopping.

The show was held in a lovely venue near the beach. It had good lighting and high ceilings which showcased the quilts well.The Pavilion

As you can see there were grey skies but there was plenty of colour on display inside. I think there were about 80 quilts in the show and a range of styles and colourways.

Jen's quiltThe first quilt I noticed when I entered the venue was this beauty designed and made by Jen of our Sydney Quilt group. I think she did a terrific job.

As usual it was quite difficult to get good photos because the rows in the display were quite close which made it hard to get a full sized photo.  I only took photos of a few that really appealed to me.

Toxic BeautyI loved the colours in this one called Toxic Beauty by Melissa Gottliebsen.

Log Cabin FracturedI’m a sucker for log cabin quilts and these couple caught my eye.  The one above is Log Cabin Fractured by Liesel Moult. It used shot cottons and really shone! You can find Liesel on instagram as lieselquilts.

The one below with a similar theme is Lawless by SJ Rice.

LawlessI loved the quilting on Grated by Jane Rundle below, all done on a home domestic machine.  I was really impressed with the quilting on many of the quilts and most of them were done on domestic machines.

GratedJacarander on george below is the work of Deborah Louie in an art quilt style and has fabulous piecing and colour inspired by the blooms of Jacaranda trees along the Georges river.

De LouieGalaxyAnd now for my favourite quilt in the show, possibly because of my recent foray into fussy-cutting and English paper piecing.

This is the work of Jess Frost who blogs at The Elven Garden.  Jess has lots of details about making the quilt on her blog – it took her more than 100 hours of work and all was quilted on her home machine.

Galaxy 2Unfortunately the colours look very washed out in this photo- you can see better photos on her blog.

Galaxy 3

Isn’t the piecing and quilting just fab!

FootyThere was a football game being played on the oval next to the venue as we left and I just loved the sign.  Seems aggressive parents and onlookers are problems everywhere.  It’s a great setting as the oval is right next to the beach (the strip of grey above the fence is actually the ocean) so if the onlookers get a bit bored with the game they can gaze at the ocean.

Now that I have seen the entries I may try and make and enter a quilt next year.  It would perhaps motivate me to move my quilting up a step – it is my least favourite part of making a quilt and I need to improve it!

One thought on “A “modern” day out

  1. I love all the quilts and my favourite is the same as yours. Good notice, my son coaches and referees and the abuse he has to tolerate would be unacceptable in any other arena of life.

Leave a Reply

