Sydney Quilt Show

I spent an enjoyable afternoon at the annual Sydney Quilt Show on the week-end.  I can’t post lots of photos because there is a strict policy on taking photographs.  You can see photos of the winning quilts here.  As always there were some stunning quilts. I never cease to be amazed by the skill and creativity of quilters!

I can however, show you the quilt below which was the group quilt entry of our Sydney Modern Quilt Group. It’s called Rainbow Skyline and was based on a Tula Pink pattern from her City Sampler 100 Modern Quilt Blocks book.  I did the orange blocks (no surprises there!) and Jen did a great job on the quilting.

Group quilt 2015Jen won a prize for this terrific quilt below.  I love her use of colour and also her mix of solids and prints to suit the theme.

Jen's quilt Jen's quilt label

 

 

I’ll let Jen’s label explain her inspiration.  Well done Jen!

 

 

 

Hexagons

 

I also did a little shopping and found this terrific book by Kelly Ashton. Given my recent interest in EPP it was just what I have been looking for. It is a skills based book and  has everything you need to know about 60′ degree angled shapes and how to combine the different shapes into patterns for building your own design.

Now all I have to do is keep stitching those stars!

3 thoughts on “Sydney Quilt Show

Leave a Reply

