Simplify: 4 and a dilemma

Underwear cleanupI continued with some decluttering on Sunday and cleaned out my underwear drawers. The result was a pile of to-be-discarded nickers and bras – too small, too uncomfortable, and old elastic. Hence the dilemma,  what does one do with old underwear?  It seems weird to put it in the garbage bin and even weirder to put it in a clothing bin.  Some could be used for cleaning rags, but I guess it is the garbage bin for the rest.

Yet again I was stunned to discover how much underwear I had – how much can one person wear?  This decluttering process is really making me aware of how much money I waste on unnecessary spending. i.e. wants rather than needs. I’d like to think that this simplify project is making me much more mindful of needless expenditure. I certainly hope so.

Also in the pile are some silk scarves from my trips to Vietnam years ago.  I used to sell these at the markets and had a few left after I closed the stall.  These will be donated to the charity shop.

I’m finding this project very satisfying and there are moments when I feel like just getting rid of almost all my possessions and living a very streamlined existence. So far my clothes closets, kitchen pantry and bookshelves are looking much more manageable.  I think kitchen cupboards and utensils are next – lots of old take away food containers seem to be lurking in there somewhere!

Leave a Reply

