Going round in circles

I think I have finally resolved the design of my Drunkard’s Path quilt using Alison Glass fabrics which I bought when she had a moving studio sale.  I love the fabrics, but as most of them were fat quarters of large prints and I wasn’t sure what to do with them.  I decided to teach myself how to make Drunkard’s Path blocks using a large (12″) template that I bought at the Quilt Show last year.

Whilst I loved how each block looked individually I have been struggling with how to combine them into a quilt. I tiled various layouts and wasn’t happy with any of them (including the one below), party because of the colour combinations and partly because I don’t like overly symmetrical quilts – I like some sense of improv or whimsy.

image

It’s still a work in progress and I’m not entirely sure of how it will look in the end but I’m learning a lot and having fun testing out ideas. I’ve now used up all of the large print floral Alison Glass fabric so I working out a way to integrate other pieces into the overall design so that I can end up with with a top about 60″ x 72″.

image

 

I made these 6″ minis (at least in comparison to the 12″ blocks) on the week-end.  I love the colour comobos of these 🙂

Hope you are enjoying some design or sewing fun too.

6 thoughts on “Going round in circles

  1. I think the layout shown has its own sense of whimsy, just through the colors and prints used. Maybe starting with something like that and subbing in some littles would be interesting. Just thinking… Good luck. I do think it will turn out happily.

  2. Love the colors and prints of your blocks. I love playing with all the potential of Drunkard’s Path blocks.

Leave a Reply

