Quilty fun in Melbourne

I’m down in Melbourne for the Australasian Quilt Convention for the first time. I’m doing a 2 day workshop with Jenny Bowker on the week-end and spent today visiting fabric shops and stalls at the show.

imageI paid a visit this morning to Amitie Textiles, the home of Jen Kingwell designs, and they kindly let me take some pics of her quilts. They are not really my taste but I admire her skill, handwork and flair with colour and mixing fabrics.

After a leisurely lunch it was off to the Quilt Convention. Taking a cue from the above quilts and my recent foray into EPP  I bought a pattern  called Circle of Sisters by Karen Styles of Sommerset Designs. Karen was inspired by a vintage quilt from her private collection and created a design which can be hand or machine pieced.

imageKaren kindly agreed to me taking some photos of her version. I seem to be developing a thing for stars! This will need to be a future project while I finish my current WIPs. I won’t use reproduction fabrics but haven’t decided on colours yet.

2 thoughts on “Quilty fun in Melbourne

  1. I love the bottom two quilts on the ladder. Definitely Aussie style. Bright and colorful. Thanks so much for sharing, lucky you getting to go to a quilt show/convention in Melbourne!

Leave a Reply

