Some WIP progress

DP blockI’ve finally got back into my Drunkard’s Path quilt after a long hiatus and after I managed to find some more Field Study fabric by Alison Glass.  You may recall that I decided to make the circle part of the quilt entirely from this fabric range, supplemented by bright and bold solid fabric.  The colours are dull in this photo due to bad lightning at night.

I’m now on the home stretch and will be finalizing the design over the week-end. I had no set plan in mind and just wanted the colour to lead the way.

 

EmbroideryI’ve also been doing some slow stitching on my embroidery piece.  I reserve this for those nights when I’ve had a bad day at work and just need some relaxation on the couch with Pepe and Cosmo close by.  I’m really enjoying re-teaching myself long-forgotten skills from my childhood and feel a new obsession coming on.  One thing I have discovered is that I really like using perle cotton rather than embroidery floss.  It holds a stitch better in my view, plus I just love all the available colours! 🙂

Bright Flower

 

 

Sydney is experiencing a very warm autumn – it is halfway through May and it is 25′ today. We had the hottest April on record and it seems that we may also have a new record for May. Many plants and shrubs seem to think it is Spring!

 

Cosmo and Pepe on tableCosmo and Pepe were enjoying the sun this morning after their usual brush. They were as sleek as seals.

Hope all is right in your world and that colour and creativity is filling your days. Til next time…

4 thoughts on “Some WIP progress

  1. I love to embroider too. I can get lost in the stitches and just go crazy with designs. I love seeing your geranium, they really are such a beautiful and iconic plant. Your boys are so handsome and enjoying a warm autumn day.

  2. Thanks for stopping by today. Your embroidery is beautiful! Different too. Do you know Cecile Franconie? She is French, her last book was published by Quiltmania and she embroiders after nature. Beautiful too I think. Her blog is called: Facilececile I think.
    Sweet cats!
    Groetjes
    Annemieke

Leave a Reply

