Serendipity

I don’t know about you, but for me the internet and social media such as blogs, Pinterest and Instagram sometimes lead me down pathways to serendipitous discoveries.  I saw some embroidery that I liked in a gram by Annemieke Bears from the Netherlands on Instagram, which led me to her website where I saw a picture of a Dilly Bag  she made from from a Brigitte Giblin pattern.

Dilly bag I made a comment on the post about the embroidery and also asked about the bag pattern. Needless to say I then bought the pattern and the paper pieces.

Annemieke kindly responded and also recommended that I might like to look at another embroiderer and maker which led me to Cecile Franconie and her beautiful work. Cecile blogs in French and even if you don’t translate the text the photos of her work are are truly captivating.

imageShe uses a wide variety of fabric and then everything imaginable to embellish it – beads, thread, ribbons wool and so on.

Several weeks later I went to the annual quilt and craft fair here in Sydney and as I entered who should I see doing needlework in a beautiful display of her work was Cecile.

1885

Cecile’s visit had been advertised as part of the show, but I didn’t know anything about her work when I read the guide. I only put the pieces together when I saw her work at the show. Serendipity strikes again!

cecile Franconie

 

 

 

 

If you would like to see more of Cecile’s work she has a book which is published by Quiltmania.

Hope you are enjoying creating.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

