Thinking inside the square

Some progress on the “small sketches” quilt.  The original concept for the sketch series was to concentrate on 3 design elements -improv, log cabins and warm colours.  I have stayed mainly within those parameters and added a touch of accent colour here and there.

A touch of turquoise

A touch of turquoise

This is the latest sketch – this will probably be the only blue tone in the finished quilt.

Autumn block with a touch of pink

Autumn block with a touch of pink

This finished block adds a touch of pinkish/mauve.

New block with a touch of green and deep red

New block with a touch of green and deep red

The latest one really adds some bright tones and a deep red, plus a slash of green  in the outer neutral border.

With a bit of luck I hope to finish all the blocks on the week-end.  I still don’t have a good idea of how it will flow when the 25 blocks are joined together – finished size will be a 5×5  of 12″ blocks – 60″ square quilt.

I can see now that many of them have a floral element while several have only abstract geometric shapes.  I’m not sure how that will flow overall, so I may take those out and make a few more with flowers and end up with a 4th, but originally unplanned, design element. I’m also keen to add a couple with a mustard yellow tone.  After a long and frustrating week at work, playing with colour is such fun!  Hope you have some fun this week-end.

2 thoughts on “Thinking inside the square

    • Thanks Melanie. I have taken out the block with the really bright yellow and pink and may remove the red with the blue strips. It’s a good experience in thinking about how colour works in practice, rather than theory! With a bit of luck I’ll finish piecing this week-end.

Leave a comment